Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Buy Tickets SHARE

Series at the Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood

Fri, Aug 4, 2017 - Sun, Aug 13, 2017

We celebrate the centennial of one of France's greatest directors, Jean-Pierre Melville, with two weekends including both beautiful DCP restorations and rare 35mm prints imported from France. Part of a nationally touring program, this series features his signature crime thrillers (LE SAMOURAÏ, BOB LE FLAMBEUR) as well as tense wartime dramas (ARMY OF SHADOWS).


Fri, Jul 14, 2017 - Wed, Jul 19, 2017

Luc Besson is one of the most phenomenally successful and influential French filmmakers of the last three decades; join us for a survey of his work from his sci-fi debut LE DERNIER COMBAT to crime thrillers like THE PROFESSIONAL (with the director in person) to a Members-only screening of his new blockbuster VALERIAN AND THE CITY OF A THOUSAND PLANETS.


Thu, Jul 13, 2017 - Fri, Jul 28, 2017

For filmmakers who pushed the boundaries of content in regards to sex and violence, the X rating was a way to acknowledge that there were worthwhile films that just weren’t made for kids. Join us for some of the greatest of these films made before the MPAA replaced it with the NC-17 rating, including MIDNIGHT COWBOY, THE DEVILS and FEMALE TROUBLE


Thu, Jun 15, 2017 - Sun, Jun 25, 2017

Films originally shot in 35mm could be blown up to 70mm to take advantage of the latter format’s superior sound and brighter imagery, a process that peaked with such 1982 hits as THE THING, TRON and E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL.


Sun, Jun 4, 2017 - Mon, Jun 5, 2017

Join us for a two-night salute to one of America’s most beloved actors, Sam Elliott, with his new film THE HERO and such favorites as MASK.


Tue, May 9, 2017 - Mon, May 15, 2017

The fourth annual EU Film Festival spotlights festival award winners from Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, and Spain with a week of shorts and features.